Pork and Potato Goulash

I got this recipe from a newspaper’s weekend magazine years ago. As usual, I was quite sure that I would try the recipe the weekend after. I have fond memories of goulash from a ready-to-use spice mix that I used to regularly buy from the supermarket. At that time, I thought that goulash must be hard to make and the spice mix would have made it so much easier. All I needed to do was to get some beef, potato and onion. The spice mix was delicious, but I could not be more wrong about how difficult it is to cook goulash from scratch.

Like many home cooks, I not very good at following recipes. Hence, you would probably never read about me making dainty cakes or intricate dishes in ‘Nourishing Chow’. I have either omitted or modified the amount of the ingredients of Matthew Evans’ goulash recipe. So, even though I love the taste of my goulash, it probably does not taste much like his version.

I reduced the amount of meat in the recipe because I felt the original amount was too much for 6 serves. The amount of tomatoes was significantly increased because I could not be bothered to think about ways to use the leftover. The worst that could happen was that my goulash would contain a healthy amount of vegetables (or, fruit, for the purists).

The original recipe also called for dill cucumbers a.k.a. gherkins. But, I assumed them to be fresh cucumbers. Since zucchini was on special, it was naturally the perfect substitute. Fortunately, the fresh zucchinis worked very well with the goulash. I also omitted the sour cream and found that the goulash tasted just fine. But, you can either add lemon juice or serve the goulash with some sauerkraut if you want some acidity to cut through the richness of goulash.

 

 

Pork and Potato Goulash
Inspired by a recipe by M. Evans (Sydney Morning Herald Good Weekend Magazine)

Serves 6

1-2 tbsp oil
750 g/1 lb 10 oz pork neck/beef chuck steak, cubed
1 tbsp plain flour
2 onions, sliced
4 cloves garlic, sliced
2 tbsp (heaped) sweet paprika
1 x 400g/14 oz canned chopped tomatoes
1 L/1 quart reduced salt chicken/vegetable stock or water
½ tsp iodised salt
¼ tsp freshly milled black pepper
600 g/1 lb 5 oz potatoes, chopped
2 zucchinis, chopped (The original recipe called for 80g dill cucumbers/ gherkins)

Mix the flour with the cubed pork. Heat the oil in a large casserole pan over a medium-high heat. Add the pork and fry until it is browned. Remove the pork with slotted spoon. Set aside.

Fry the garlic and onion until fragrant. Add the paprika and stir for 1 minute. Return the pork to the pan. Add the tomatoes and stock/water. Season with salt and pepper. Stir well. Bring the mixture to the boil and reduced the heat. Place a lid loosely on the pan and simmer for about 30 minutes. Stir occassionally.

Stir in the potatoes. Simmer for another 30 minutes. Stir in the zucchinis and simmer for another 5 minutes. Serve the goulash warm as a main meal.

© 2012 Lusiana Njo

6 thoughts on “Pork and Potato Goulash

What do you think?

