Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry

Kue lapis (layered cake, steamed)

Kue lapis, an Indonesian/South East Asian steamed layered cake made from rice flour. I got the kue lapis in the picture from the wet market. My favourite is the pandan-flavoured, green and white kue lapis.

Salak (snake-skin fruit)

The outer skin of salak is a proof that geometric patterns are what nature does best. I can eat half a dozen salak in one sitting. The flesh of a salak can be chewy, crunchy or anything in between. It can taste astringent, mildly sweet, or anything in between. Eating salak is like eating a box of chocolates. I never know what I will get, but I am rarely disappointed. 

 

What do you think?

