Weekly Photo Challenge: Change in Lime Pomanders

About 4 months (16 weeks) ago, I made lime pomanders for the first time. Pomanders should last for years if properly made and preserved. While I did refrigerate my lime pomanders for the first 1 week to dry them out, I was not sure if they would last without any additional preservative spices.

The theme of this weekโ€™s photo challenge is change.ย This photo below shows how the lime pomanders I made have changed.

Lime pomanders after 16 weeks
Lime pomanders after 16 weeks

They have become much lighter and shrunk a little, maybe by 1/3. They still smell wonderful. But, the fragrance has either dissipated or I have become more used to it. It seems like that they can last for a few more months. We will see in another 8 months.

10 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Change in Lime Pomanders

  1. They look almost like they’ve been antiqued. I wonder if they smell like Old Spice cologne for men? I love that smell!

    1. They do. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I don’t know what Old Spice cologne smells like. But, if it’s based on cloves & citrus, then it might be similar. When freshly made, these lime pomanders had the fresh & zesty smell of limes & the spicy smell of cloves. Now, they still have the cloves’ fragrance but with just a hint of the limes’ zesty smell.

What do you think?

