Mother’s Day Veg Out

A number of mobile food trucks have been operating in various locations around inner Sydney since 2012. The foods offered are street-food inspired, ranging from snacks, gourmet fast foods to modern Asian foods. I am particularly interested in the Veggie Patch Van which is said to use solar power for the cooking and recycled vegetable oil as the truck’s fuel. But I kept forgetting to check when and where it was going, for almost a year.

The opportunity for me to try the Veggie Patch Van came last Sunday, which was incidentally Mother’s Day. The prospect of a free “bliss ball” for every mother only added to my excitement. My daughter, on the other hand, was obliging at best when she found out that there will be no meat in sight. She only became more enthusiastic after knowing that she could get her favourite, sweet potato chips, and that we could explore the Victoria Park that the van would be operating in.

The look of the Veggie Patch Van, dressed as a farm barn house, proved to be the ultimate “yes” factor for my daughter. She could hardly wait to taste the foods once she saw how cute the van was. Even though we got there a little over one hour before the van’s closing time, they already ran out of sweet potato chips, the prior deal-sealer for my daughter. Most kids her age are repulsed by anything they have not eaten 20 times before. So, I was very proud of her for bravely agreeing to try the haloumi burger instead.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We had to wait for quite a long time for our zucchini burger, haloumi burger and chocolate bliss ball. However, the foods were definitely worth the wait. They looked, smelled and tasted great. The spicy zucchini burger was very flavoursome and chock full of nourishing goodness. It had zucchini, baby spinach, chickpeas, feta cheese, beetroot, caramelized onions, dill mayonnaise, ketchup and a few other things that I could not work out. I was impressed by the number of things they could fit into one burger. The haloumi burger had haloumi cheese, lettuce, passionfruit ketchup, mayonnaise and Spanish onion. My daughter absolutely loved her haloumi burger and could not say it often enough. The pistachio, chilli, chocolate and salt bliss ball that I got was very substantial. It was big enough for 2-4 people to share.

Having a day out in the park and yummy foods with my lovely daughter made my Mother’s day absolutely perfect. I only wished that my mother were around to celebrate the day with. I lost my mother a few years ago and I have never fully gotten over it. I have made peace with it but I don’t think one could ever completely get over losing a parent.

My elder brother posted a lovely and touching Mother’s Day prose about our mom who made numerous personal sacrifices for us. She always refused presents from us, preferring us to instead save the money used to buy the presents. She also loved to grow her own herbs, fruits and vegetables and avoided eating out because it would be 10 times cheaper and healthier to cook at home. His prose reminded me that my mom would have (happily) grumbled if I had brought her along to grab a few hipster (in the most flattering way, Veggie Patch…) vegetarian burgers, as she loved a simple day out in the park with nourishing foods made with utmost respect and care for the environment.

All in all, both my daughter and I were both very happy that we made the effort to go to the Victoria Park to try the Veggie Patch Van’s offerings. We can’t wait for another chance to either try other food vans or chow down on some Veggie Patch goodness again and perhaps have mom / grandma Pho Pho with us in spirit.

 

Note: The recipe for Veggie Patch’s zucchini burger can be found in the Living Room TV show’s website.

10 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Veg Out

  1. Dear Lusiana,
    It sounds like a perfect day indeed! Those burgers look amazing! I just wanted to say that I’m sorry for your loss. And sending you lots of hugs. To the memories of those who have shaped us and loved us. Always, Sharon

  2. I agree that one never really gets over losing a parent. I lost my father 13 years ago. Sometimes it seems like it happened yesterday. My mother is still with us. She was 91 this month. So I am more fortunate than most to still living parent. Thanks for the like of my post “Magnolias Against the Blue Sky”.

What do you think?

