Baked Prawns with Mung Bean Noodles

Mung bean noodle is an old favourite that I have not cooked with for a while. With life being more unpredictable and fragile than anything could ever be, I am starting to have mild panic attacks over how much time I have left to try as many new foods as possible while also revisiting old favourites.

This baked prawns with mung bean noodles recipe in my “to-try” list has somewhat solved my dilemma. In trying this recipe, I accomplished a few things, cooking something from my pile of neglected cookbooks, crossing another recipe off my “to-try” list, eating something a little different, revisiting an old favourite, mung bean noodles with seafood, and perhaps some incidental dusting of the bookshelf in the process of searching for and getting the book.

The baked prawns with mung bean noodles were absolutely delicious. The only problem was that my daughter and I had to go through the mung bean noodles; picking coriander seeds out because I used whole coriander seeds instead of ground coriander. Coriander seeds can be eaten whole but it was not very pleasant to bite through the seeds. Other than that, it was a delicious and light accompaniment for rice.

IMG_0137tm-NCLNjo-PrawnsMungBean

I am not sure about the origin of baked prawns with mung bean noodles. Because fish sauce and coriander are used in this recipe, I think it may be a Thai dish. I had had something very similar to this dish in a Chinese restaurant. It was cooked and served in a clay pot with oyster sauce, spring onions and chillies as the main flavours. It was also very delicious.

I will definitely cook baked prawns and mung bean noodles again. But, I might just braise it on the stove as the flavours and textures will probably be largely the same according to my unfussy tastebuds.

Baked Prawns with Mung Bean Noodles

 Adapted from Delicious Asian Seafood Recipes by L.G. Boi (2001)

4 stalks fresh coriander with roots
6cm old ginger, smashed
2 Tbsp oil
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1 tsp ground / powdered coriander
1 tsp ground white pepper
250mL chicken / vegetable stock
1½ Tbsp fish sauce
1 tsp dark soy sauce (I used kecap manis instead)
150g tang hoon or mung bean, cellophane or glass noodles, soaked in hot water for 5 minutes, drained, rinsed with cold water
½ kg green / uncooked prawns

Preheat the oven to 180°C / 350°F

Cut the roots and stalk off the coriander about 4cm from the bottom. Wash and rinse well. Chop the coriander leaves and set aside.

Heat the oil in a large casserole pan. Stir fry the garlic, coriander roots, ginger, ground coriander and white pepper for 3-5 minutes. Add the stock, fish sauce, dark soy sauce and mung bean noodles. Bring to a boil. Turn off the heat.

Add the prawns, cover the casserole with oven-proof lid and bake for 12-15 minutes until the prawns are cooked. Garnish with the chopped coriander leaves and serve hot with steamed rice.

2 thoughts on “Baked Prawns with Mung Bean Noodles

What do you think?

