Roasted Chicken with Coriander Seeds, Thyme and Tomato

This recipe, a clipping from the SMH’s Good Weekend magazine, has been in my recipe clippings folder for over a year now. A quick search showed that the recipe was first published by Karen Martini. After months of planning to cook it, I finally got around to cooking it recently as I needed to find another way to use the fresh thymes that I bought to cook with sweet potatoes last week.

 There is only one word that can describe this spiced roasted chicken recipe, divine. I am not very worldly in terms of the degree of my foodie-ness. So, I had no idea that coriander seeds and thyme could taste so good together. While my daughter also loved the roasted chicken, she just nodded obligingly as I gushed about how much I loved the flavours and what a keeper this recipe was. Aaah… how parents can make their children cringe so effortlessly.

IMG_0634tm-NCLNjo-Roasted-Chicken-Coriander-Thyme-Tomato

I changed the recipe a little bit because I did not have a few ingredients and I did not read the recipes carefully enough. I was supposed to pour in the vinegar (it was supposed to be sherry) after the chicken was cooked, but I had already put all the spices and liquid ingredients in the marinade. At the end, it did not make much difference. To me, it worked out fine and I had simply sped up the devouring time for the most delicious roasted chicken I have had so far.

 

Roasted Chicken with Coriander Seeds, Thyme and Tomatoes

Adapted from: http://www.karenmartini.com/cook/recipes/roast-chicken-coriander-seeds-thyme-tomato & http://au.lifestyle.yahoo.com/food/recipes/recipe/-/13795918/roasted-chicken-with-coriander-seeds-black-pepper-and-thyme/

1.6kg chicken, cut into eight pieces
3 Tbsp coriander seeds
1 Tbsp black peppercorns
¾ Tbsp iodised salt
8 cloves garlic, skin on
1 tsp sweet paprika
30 ml olive oil
8 sprigs fresh thyme
20 cherry tomatoes, halved
20 ml apple cider vinegar

Place chicken pieces in a large plastic zip-lock bag or large bowl. Roughly crush coriander seeds and peppercorns in a mortar and pestle or food processor, add the salt, garlic and paprika and roughly crush. Tip the spice mixture into the zip-lock bag or bowl, add the olive oil and cider vinegar and massage it into the chicken. Cover the bowl with cling wrap. Refrigerate for at least 20 minutes (overnight, if possible) to allow flavours to infuse.

Preheat oven to 220°C.

Place the chicken pieces skin-side up in a 40cm x 25 cm ceramic or cast-iron baking dish. Scatter over the thyme sprigs and tomatoes. Roast for 50 to 60 minutes or until the chicken is golden and cooked through.

Serve the chicken in the roasting dish with pan juices spooned over it.

6 thoughts on “Roasted Chicken with Coriander Seeds, Thyme and Tomato

What do you think?

