Flaxseed and Oatmeal Cookies

I first made flaxseed and oatmeal cookies for a friend who needed to eat flaxseeds for

health reasons. The healthy ingredients’ ratios in the first recipe that I used at that time were a little too high. So, the cookies were rock hard and very dense. Still, we both found the cookies edible and pleasantly nutty.

While trying to search for a better recipe, I found the best flaxseed cookies recipe by chance from the Canadian Living website as it was not ranked too highly by the search engines. Even though I reduced the sugar amounts by almost half, they were still very delicious.

IMG_0655tm-NCLNjo-Flaxseed-oat-cookies1

The cookies (based on the Canadian Living recipe) in the image that I have posted here were my 5th attempt at flaxseed cookies. I baked them so many times because I was trying to work out if I could increase or reduce the amounts of the ingredients. I tried to be scientific about it but I am apparently no master baker. I hence accepted that following baked goods’ recipes and modifying them only slightly was the way to go, for me at least.

Flaxseed and Oatmeal Cookies
Flaxseed and Oatmeal Cookies

I had also tried using flaxseed meal in the cookies rather than whole flaxseeds as the nutrients in flaxseed meal are more accessible. At the end though, I decided to use whole flaxseeds as I did not have a blender or coffee/spice grinder to grind them finely and I was not too sure if flaxseed meal was stable at baking temperature. Furthermore, it was actually quite enjoyable to bite into tiny, whole flaxseeds, although most of them simply passed through un-chewed and undigested. Think of them as fast-acting, natural pipe cleaners, if you will.

Flaxseed and Oatmeal Cookies

Based on (slightly modified) a recipe from Canadian Living website

Makes about 40 cookies

110g margarine
40g brown sugar
30 g granulated sugar
1 egg
¼ tsp vanilla extract
155g flour
70g oatmeal
120g flaxseeds
½ tsp baking soda (I halved this from the 1 tsp in the original recipe because I wanted avoid the strong taste of baking soda and cookies that spread too much)
1/4 – 1/8 tsp ground cinnamon

In bowl, beat together margarine and sugar until light; beat in egg and vanilla.

In separate bowl, whisk together flour, oats, flaxseeds and baking soda; stir into margarine mixture until soft dough forms.

Drop the cookie dough by level tablespoonfuls (15 mL) on a baking sheet. Bake in top and bottom thirds of 350°F (180°C) oven, rotating and switching pans halfway through, until golden, 12 minutes (I baked mine for a total of 14 minutes as my oven’s temperature
fluctuates).

Let cool on pan on rack for 2 minutes before transferring the cookies to a rack to cool.

2 thoughts on “Flaxseed and Oatmeal Cookies

What do you think?

