P365 D151: Eggplant, Mushroom and Zucchini Sambal

Eggplant is one of my favourite vegetables. But, I rarely cook with eggplant because it is a little expensive.

Just before day 151, I had to stop myself from jumping with glee at my local supermarket when I noticed that the eggplants were selling for only $2/kg (compared to the usual $7-8/kg) despite appearing quite fresh still. Needless to say, I bought a few too many eggplants.

Up to day 151, I had cooked plain eggplant stir fry, eggplant with pine nuts and eggplant with mince. Even then, I still had 2 eggplants on day 151. I did not want to waste the precious $2/kg eggplant. So, I rummaged through my fridge and found that I had all the ingredients in the image below (I forgot to include fresh chillies and garlic in the image).

eggplant, mushrooms, onions, tomatoes and zucchinis
Spring onion, eggplant, mushrooms, onions, tomatoes and zucchinis

Although the ingredient combo did not quite scream South East Asian, I decided to cook a sambal using the base ingredients for a simple sambal that my mom taught me: garlic, onion, tomato, chilli and sugar. As sambal is meant to be eaten in small amounts, there were enough ingredients for 6 serves. Although the sambal did not contain complex flavours or spices, it was delicious, light and nourishing.

To cook an eggplant, mushroom and zucchini sambal, start by cutting 2 zucchinis, 4 button mushrooms and 1 spring onion into bite size pieces. Cut 2 cloves of garlic, 4 bird eye chillies, 2 small brown onions and 3 tomatoes finely. Cut 1 eggplant (~650g) into cubes.

Heat 2 tablespoons of oil over medium heat in a frypan. Place the eggplant cubes skin-down in the hot oil. Sprinkle a pinch of salt over the eggplant pieces. Stir fry the eggplant pieces for 1-2 minutes (depending on how big the eggplant pieces are). Remove the eggplants when they are half-cooked and set aside.

Heat 1 1/2 tablespoons of oil over medium heat in a frypan. Add the garlic. Cook until fragrant. Add the brown onions, tomatoes and chillies. Add 1 teaspoon of sugar. Mix well. Cook for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add the mushrooms and zucchinis. Mix well. Add salt to taste. Stir for 3-5 minutes. Add the eggplant pieces and spring onion. Mix well. Cook for a further 1 minute. Serve the sambal with steamed rice.

Eggplant, mushroom and zucchini sambal
Eggplant, mushroom and zucchini sambal

 

4 thoughts on “P365 D151: Eggplant, Mushroom and Zucchini Sambal

What do you think?

